Testimonials

“They are group of enthusiastic and passionate professionals.”

Written by the people who have explored this stunning region with us, the selection of testimonials below highlights the places, the people and the feelings you are bound to experience on your journey. Honest and unrevised, they give you a clear idea of the personal efforts and virtue which go into crafting each individual itinerary and have over time become the trademark of travelling with Secret Dalmatia.

Elam & Armanino families, USA
Croatia Discovery Private Program

June 2014

 

Hi Diana-

We had a wonderful time in Croatia and Slovenia thanks to all of your planning!

The guides, drivers, hotels and restaurants were all excellent and up to the standard we expected. Only complaint we had was the weather!

Truly appreciate all of your assistance and if we are ever headed back that way, you will hear from us!

All the best,

Kym Elam

 

Oldham family, Australia
Discover Dalmatia Sailing

July 2014

 

Mirna – we have just returned home after our wonderful holiday.

I’ve just posted a very glowing review on Trip Advisor (see below) but want to thank you personally for making this holiday so very special.

Everything was perfect and we are certainly spruiking the virtues of you and your company to all our friends.

Thank you!

Cheers

Sandy

Posted on Trip Advisor (17/7/14)

We have just returned from 11 days in Croatia which included 6 days on land (Rojniv, Split & Dubrovnik) and 5 days sailing the islands. After consultation via email, Mirna from Secret Dalmatia put together what looked to be a superb itinerary.

From the outset, all dealings with Mirna/Secret Dalmatia were highly professional and responsive. The itinerary provided was very detailed and informative. Alll pick-ups/transfers were timely and efficient and the quality of the hotels excellent. I'd like to make particular reference to Judita Palace in Split where the hospitality of Andreas, Maria (senior), Maria (junior) and Anton was very personal and absolutely exceptional.

Having enjoyed a special few nights on land in Rojniv and Split we were very much looking fwd to our 5 days on the Adriatic Sea exploring the isles of Croatia. We were not disappointed. Our incredibly knowledgeable, responsible and accommodating skipper, Vinko Buble was fabulous. In 5 days we managed to see some of the best Croatia has to offer in terms of scenery, culture and food. Vinko took us to some of the most incredible eateries which I suppose you'd classify as agritourism. We would never hope to have found such marvellous, out of the way places situated in remarkable surroundings run by locals, frequented by locals and serving the most delicious local food and wine. Thank you Vinko!

To Mirna and the broader Secret Dalmatia Team - thank you so much for making our holiday so incredibly special. It will live in our memories for always.

 

Wakeman Family, USA
Croatia Explorer

June 2014

Dear Alan,

I'm writing because I'd like to thank you and your staff for what is already a very memorable family holiday.
Let me start with Mirna... What a jewel you have there! She was always responsive, efficient and attentive and never minimized a single one of our requests and desires. She even took the time to meet us in person in Zagreb which was a thoughtful detail on her part. Please let her know that my daughter is very grateful about the fact that thanks to her and Dom, who went out of their way to please us, she was able to appreciate first hand a lavender field and that meant a lot to her.
When you can, also extend our gratitude to everyone that contributed to make our experience in Croatia an unforgettable one (I hope I'm not forgetting anyone and if so, my apologies in advance):
Nevin, Max and Igor who showed us the best Zagreb has to offer;
Marian with whom we experienced spelunking in Zadar for the first time in our lives;
Nevies (wonderful person and professional) and Dom ( funny, adventurous and great host) in Split;
the staff at Mali Stone Bay for an oyster and clam tasting that was out of this world
.... and last but not least Marija (tour guide) and Nicholas (kayak instructor) in Dubrovnik.
All of them will always be part of our memories and stories in your beautiful country.
It will certainly not be our last time there... Croatia is definitely a wonderful part of the world you should be very proud of.
We'll make sure to keep your contact details very close and recommend Secret Dalmatia to our friends and family.
Looking forward to being back in Hrvatska in the near future!!!
All the best to you all and thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Fondest regards,
Glen, Carla, Valentina and Matteo Wakeman

Wondra Family, USA
Private Croatian Holiday

June 2014

Hi Vlasta,

We’ve been home for over a week now, though our hearts are still in Croatia. We had a wonderful, relaxing trip and we appreciated the quality and professionalism of the people that worked with us throughout our travels. Vanja went out of his way to help us buy some special ingredients for Croatian cooking at home, Sonja knows Split like none other, and stayed with us after her tour so that we could continue our conversation about our families, and Frano was amazing in Dubrovnik - he grew up in the old town, fought to defend the city during the Homeland war, and lived in the area his whole life - this led to many conversations that gave us even more insight into life in Croatia. Also, he took us to many places that aren’t visited by tourists, so we literally experienced secret Dalmatia. Since we are Game of Thrones fans, it was a bonus to learn that Frano drives the cast around whenever they are filming in Dubrovnik :)

Over the years we have arranged private tours with several in-country travel professionals around the world. While our past experiences have been very good, we have never experienced the high level of care that you provided during our trip. We know that you regularly checked in with our guides and drivers, and I appreciated your phone call to speak with me directly as well. Because of this, I was able to totally relax and enjoy the trip (instead of worrying about any of the arrangements).

I feel fortunate that I found Secret Dalmatia, and I hope to work with you again in the future!

Regards,
Dave

Cairy Holtby & friends, USA
Dalmatian discovery land & sea private program

June 2014

 

Hi Diana,

Just returned home yesterday. Our trip was absolutely fabulously! You did an amazing job and I would certainly recommend your services in the future. We liked it so much I hope to come back.
Thanks again for everything that you did for us. Let me know if you need any formal feedback.
All the best,
Cairy

 

Linda Silverman & Ashley Pony, USA
Croatia Discovery Private Program

June 2014

 

Mariana. We had a great time. Thank you !!!! everything was wonderful. The
drivers were beyond lovely and informative. The tour to Havar was something
I'll remember always !!!! I told Alan.

I will post on Trip Advisor

See you next time. Croatia is now my most fabulous place to be in

Best. Linda

 

Christopher and Rebecca Phelan, USA
Private Honeymoon Program

April 2014

Diana,

Thank you for an amazing honeymoon! Everything worked out wonderfully. We didn't have to worry about anything and just enjoy the experience! Croatia is an incredibly beautiful country with every city being different and special. We are so happy that we choose Croatia and Secret Dalmatia! Everyone that we met was very helpful, friendly, and professional. Igor in Zagreb was fantastic. He really made the experience in Zagreb and our journey to Split. All the hotels were a great selection and we loved the locations. We loved the island of Hvar with the wine tour and bike tour! I think that was our favorite place!

One suggestion we would have would have been to either switch the wine tour with bike tour or have the bike tour later in the day. It was hard to wake up for a bike tour early after drinking such great wine the night before!

Thank you for all your help! You made an amazing honeymoon for us!

Take care,
Becky

Catherine & Randy Verhoff, USA
Croatia Discovery Private Program

April 2014

Dear Mirna and Alan,

We really don't know how to thank you enough for the wonderful trip that you planned for Randy and me. As you know, this was a special trip, because we were celebrating Randy's 60th birthday. He wanted to go to Croatia, because his grandparents had come from Croatia and we had never been there. It was a world-class itinerary! Really!

Your tour guides were great. They were so knowledgeable and we loved every one of them. Highlights of the trip that you crafted for us included the following:

We enjoyed the wonderful meals and hospitality of Villa Meneghetti (and we loved Vladimir).
Sonja (in Split) is very sweet and informative and Paradox Wine Bar was lots of fun.
The wine tastings at Dubokovic and Tomic were very professional and the traditional dinner in the deserted village above Hvar was really special. The local guide, Mario, was very pleasant and really understood the wines at Dubokovic.
Maris has an astounding knowledge of Croatian history and her tour of Dubrovnik was so educational.
Villa Dubrovnik is a beautiful boutique hotel with very nice breakfasts (and dinner with Mirna was a lovely treat for us),
Mario Bartulovic was a terrific host and we had a great lunch with him at his family konoba. Such a nice guy!
Ivana was very warm, smart and funny. We loved walking through Krka National Park with her.
The dinner at Bibic Winery was perhaps the best meal that we have ever had. We are foodies and we live outside New York City. We have eaten at many fine restaurants around the world, including Alinea, the French Laundry and Taillevent. The meal at Bibic was truly amazing and inventive -- and we totally loved Simon.
We also loved the wine pairing dinner at San Rocco.

For us, the only very minor disappointment was the Hotel Amphorae in Hvar -- but the wine tasting and dinner in the deserted village above Hvar more than made up for that. We were also not blown away by Hotel Boskinac -- which was my idea and not yours. The food and service was good, but they had construction and pre-season clean up work going on all around us. We felt like they hardly knew we were there. I just thought we should let you know that, in case other folks asked you to book them there as well.

That said, it was truly a spectacular vacation. Many, many thanks to both of you. We will be recommending Secret Dalmatia to all of our friends!

Warmest regards.
Cathy and Randy

June 2014

Hello Diana,
Thank you for your note. Yes, Ivona was really superb, not only a great skippper but
she managed to show us places some others may not see. She even helped a group
of argentines in a catamaran whom we met in one of our stops. She has connections
everywhere and can arrange docking when things are tight.
The weather was quite bad for the first 3 or 4 days, but we managed a bit of sun and
swimming at the end. Only complaint is that the TV set on Vana was not working and
I missed a series of good futbol games at the World Cup!! For an argentine, that is
tragic.
We are now at our cottage in Canada for the summer, on a lake and sorrounded by
trees. We love it here.
Our very best to you and Alan and perhaps next time you'll guarantee more sun...
Nonetheless, we will recommend Secret Dalmatia to our friends, as the organization
and planning was excellent, sailing, Hotel, transportation, etc.
Thank you for your efforts.
With kind regards
Miguel ( and Liz) Fernandez

Radha Vora, India
Discover Croatia Private Program

May 2014

Hi Mirna

We just got back on the weekend from our holiday. Just want to take a few minutes to thank you for all the arrangements made by you and secret Dalmatia. All the arrangements were excellent. The cars provided were extremely comfortable and the drivers were extremely helpful and could speak English fluently which made the long car journeys extremely comfortable and enjoyable as they gave us a lot of interesting information about Croatia.
I am extremely keen to promote as a tourist destination to Indians. I will remain I touch with secret Dalmatia for any future queries that I receive.
One more request- please send me the number of the driver who took us to Montenegro and to the airport (same person). He had requested us to inform him when we reach Zurich as there was a concern about our visa. So we just need to inform him that there was no problem anywhere and the visa was fine for Zurich since Croatia is not part of the schengen countries.

Thank you
Radha Vora