Testimonials

“They are group of enthusiastic and passionate professionals.”

Written by the people who have explored this stunning region with us, the selection of testimonials below highlights the places, the people and the feelings you are bound to experience on your journey. Honest and unrevised, they give you a clear idea of the personal efforts and virtue which go into crafting each individual itinerary and have over time become the trademark of travelling with Secret Dalmatia.

Victoria & Max Field, UK
Explore Croatia, Private program

September 2016

Dear Vlasta,
Max and I arrived home early this afternoon and just wanted to say how much we have enjoyed our holiday in
Croatia. We have had the most wonderful few weeks, had the most amazing experiences and met some
lovely people. Without exception they were warm, welcoming and enthusiastic about their country. We learned so
much and our eyes have been opened to its history and its people - much of which (I am ashamed to say) we had
little knowledge of. Thank you so much for arranging such a special trip and for all the "secrets" which made our
stay so very special. I am sorry that we missed out on our visit to the vineyard but actually we were very glad to have
a few days to ourselves and enjoy the delights of Dubrovnik on our own. We have always to leave something to come      
back to and we shall, without doubt be back!

Once again, thank you from the bottom
of our hearts

Victoria and Max Field

The Zief Group, USA
Explore Croatia, Private program

September 2016

Mariana - thanks for your email. I just want to say that you put together a superb trip! The accommodations were excellent, as well as the locations - all were very close and convenient to the things we wanted to do in each city.

The highlights were, clearly, Rovinj and the Lone Hotel (even if we hadn't been in the Presidential Suite), your suggestion of Monte's for dinner, the tour of Split (Nevas was terrific), the lunch at Tatiana's which exceeded all expectations, and the day we spent with Mario. There really weren't any low points - we loved the trip and will be recommending Croatia to everyone we know.

All in all, this was a fantastic trip and you did a terrific job in selecting accommodations, guides and gustatory experiences. Please feel free to list us as a reference for future travelers to Croatia.

Don

Elizabeth Shook - group of 5, USA
Discover Croatia, Private program

September 2016

Natasa
I have been trying to email you all week but my email account had issues and my son had to repair it. Anyway, I want to say a heartfelt thank you for all you did to make our trip such a wonderful once in a life time experience. We truly enjoyed every single moment of our memorable experience. You did a spectacular job and I want to thank you again from the bottom of my heart.

The only thing that I wish I had done was share with you the information about the time we lived with relatives on Bol. I guess that will have to wait until the next trip.

You are the absolute best and I would highly recommend you to all of my friends who are looking to make a journey such as the one we just finished. I can't believe that we are home for a week already. I miss Croatia already!!!

Love and best wishes
Cissie and Butch

September 2016

The trip was fabulous! Highlights were lunch with Tajiana and wine tour and lunch with Mario. We were glad we took the time to see Plitvice lake area and it was a good way to break up the trip to Split. My only comment about Split was because our room was on the piazza, we got all the noise from the pub crawl-not sure if there are rooms that don’t face the square. That said, the service at the hotel was great. Thank you for your flexibility regarding Korcula and Dubrovnik. We are not sure why we even suggested 2 nights in Korcula! We must have seen it in another itinerary! We would highly recommend you; it was a great trip.

Lyn

Christine Taylor & Douglas Buchanan, Canada
Explore Croatia, Private program

September 2016

Dear Vlasta

Doug and I are home and trying to adjust to the jet lag! We both wanted to thank you and Secret Dalmatia for putting together an absolutely perfect trip for our 30th anniversary. We loved Croatia- it is a beautiful country with wonderful people . We travel extensively and I usually organize all trip details but in this case we are very happy that we let you organize it for us. I think we saw and experienced things that I would not have been able to organize on my own. All of the hotels, tour guides, drivers and skippers were wonderful. The tours and experiences you organized for us were excellent. Although we were quite busy with activities each day it still felt relaxing as everything was so well organized- we just had to show up! Finishing the trip off at the beautiful Villa Dubrovnik was definitely a highlight. This has definitely been our favourite trip to date and we are already planning on returning to Croatia. We have also recommended Croatia and Secret Dalmatia to our friends.

Thank you again for helping make this anniversary trip so special

Sincerely

Christine Taylor

September 2016

Hi Mariana,

Thank you so much for the follow-up! We loved our trip and I am happy to provide feedback!

Overall, we were completely thrilled. We loved that everyone had a cold bottle of water waiting for us and were very engaging. Our favorite guide was Ivan with our wine tour in Hvar. We loved the whole experience, although, at the first winery, there was a Polish reality tv show being filmed, so we weren't able to talk much because they kept asking us to be quiet. Ivan did a great job of working around it and making the best of the situation. Our favorite meal of the entire trip was at the abandoned village. The food and people were fantastic.

We also really loved our skippers for the boat transfer to Hvar. The whole day could have been a disaster because of the weather, but you made it so easy for us with the private driver and the change in pick up location and I think that overall, this was a perfect example of why it was a great choice to work with you. I can't imagine trying to make those changes on our own.

Thank you again and we have been recommending you to everyone! We met a couple from Houston, TX named Michael and Stephanie Hamilton and we believe they will be reaching out to you in the next year or two.

It was a great experience!

Jenna

Francine Trull & Barbara Dixon, USA
Discover Croatia, Private program

September 2016

Mirna-

Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. Very hectic after being out of town for 2 weeks . You and your Secret Dalmatia team were terrific and we’re very pleased we chose to use your services for our first trip to Croatia. The trip was seamless as guides and drivers were all at designated locations at the correct times. We had some exceptional guides, especially Nada in Pula, Nives in Rovinj and Vesna in Dubrovnik. All were articulate and provided exceptional descriptions of the history, the buildings and the local surroundings.

Igor, our driver a couple of times, including between Zagreb and Rovinj, was also a stand-out. All the drivers were very good except for the man who drove us to Motovun. His style of driving – constant pumping up and down on the gas pedal – made me carsick. I’m sure other passengers have experienced similar problems.

The stand-out hotels were The Esplanade and Monte Mulini (our favorite). We would not recommend Villa Nora, although the innkeepers were very nice and helpful. Hotel Vestibul is in a great location with an exceptionally helpful staff, but the rooms were substandard.

We also loved our lunch with Tatiana and the dinner in the abandoned village.

If we had one complaint about our trip it would be the restaurants. Some were quite good, but others were very disappointing. However, despite the food, we appreciated both the beauty of Croatia and the kindness and warmth of the people.

Mirna, you did a great job for us and we both thank you. I will be reviewing Secret Dalmatia on TripAdvisor along with some of the hotels and restaurants in the coming days.

Thanks so much,

Frankie

Mawson, Drouet Family, USA
Family Tour of Croatia, Private program

August 2016

Dear Mirna

I know it has been a few weeks since our return but finally I have some time to sit down and write to you! I have thought about our trip alot and have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed it. I have included some more detailed information for you and if you want to clarify anything with me please let me know.

Firstly I would like to give you some feedback about the organisation of Secret Dalmatia. We love to travel and try new things and with your help our itinerary was varied, fun and interesting. We could never have done this on our own!! Mirna you made organising the trip seem easy although I know it wasn't and we really appreciated your flexibility and advice on where to go and what trips to take. Also really tailoring things for us and making it so personal. You were easy to contact before the trip and I know that you were in touch with each of our guides every day. We also found the activities to be really well paced. At first I thought we were going to be really rushed but the only late night/early start was after Krka and then to Solta. It was also a good mix of lazy (boat days) and other activities.
We also really appreciated your help to get us an extra Epipen. Your personal service was excellent!

TOURS:

KrKa
Very pretty and good to go in the evening. Still super busy but I am not sure how you avoid this in August. Nevis was very knowledgeable and it was good to have this as our 'introductory' tour. Despite the end of the evening, dinner was amazing and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.
A big thank you to Nevis and our driver for looking after us so well and not panicking in a crisis!

Olive Oil and Honey Tour
Dom was a great guide, interesting and friendly. We would be interested in finding out some details about the other more 'outdoorsy' adventures he does with you.
Philippe and I really enjoyed the olive oil tour and personally learnt a great deal. The girls didn't find it as interesting, perhaps this is something more for adults?
However they LOVED the honey tour. Goran made the whole visit so fun and informative. We talk about it most days as we eat our honey. The lunch at their place was lovely. Goran and his wife were so lovely when Gen fell asleep on their sofa. This is a must trip for families with children!

Whilst we were with Dom I know he took many photos. He told us he would create an account where we could view them and give you the details. Do you have that information?

Boat trip with Jacob
One of our favourite days. We let Jacob advise us on route and visits. Great sightseeing, lovely boat, delicious lunch, super Captain

Tour of Hvar and Dinner
We really apprciated seeing a little bit more of the Island of Hvar and liked the short hike to the peak. The tour was just the right amount of time. Dinner at the deserted village was so great. Simple but delicious and so very different. We would highly recommend this

Sailing trip with Eddie
Again another lovely Captain. We know he was disappointed about the wind but we still had a lovely day. Perhaps our favorite lunch in Croatia was on this trip at the Dionis restuarant.

Transfer Day and Dubrovnik Tour
Our driver was very friendly and knowledgeable about Croatia, very easy trip from Hvar to Dubrovnik. Loved stopping for Lunch in Ston
The tour in the evening was informative for Philippe and I but I think was a little too adult for the girls. It was good to go later in the day when it was quieter but it felt a little rushed as we also needed to fit in dinner. I know our days were full with boat trips but an early morning tour might be a good idea.

Boat tour from Dubrovnik
Again another lovely boat day ( we really liked these!) Good swimming and nice lunch. Of the three boat trips this had the least impressive beaches and sceneery but was still very nice.

Kayak Trip
Wonderful day. Sandy was excellent with Gen and Annie. It was great to have our own guide as we could really go at our pace (good with little ones!) Sandy was very patient and I think we were out for much longer than he anticipated! The Island of Lokrum was lovely, it would have been nice to have a little more time to explore but we had already had a full day. We felt very safe kayaking with the girls with Sandy and everyone really enjoyed the day. Not one complaint about the effort needed!

HOTELS:

Judita Palace
Excellent hotel and service, the family room was perfect for us. Andreas was so helpful and friendly, his personal service and jokes made us really feel at home. Our favourite hotel

Adriana
Great location, friendly staff, very delicious breakfast!

BelleVue
Another lovely hotel, very helpful staff.

What more can I say? We had a wonderful trip and I would thoroughly recommend your company. If you want to use us as a refernce for anyone I would be happy to help out.

Keep well Mirna

Best wishes
Joanne

Weinstein group, USA
Croatia and Slovenia Discover, Private program

August 2016

Hi Dubravka,

As promised, I'm following up with the feedback.

The trip was very well organized. Thank you for keeping in touch with us and tracking everything. All hotels were well chosen. I don't regret insisting on our downgrade at Plitvice Lakes as proximity for the park enabled us to visit it twice - in the afternoon upon arrival and the following morning before departure. And, thanks to Secret Dalmatia, I think I left a part of my soul at Heritage Villa Apolon on Hvar - feel free to check my review on TripAdvisor, which I posted on September 4 (trying to be productive on a ferry Hvar - Korcula and taking advantage of free wifi). What an amazing place, I want to go back already!

The itinerary moved exactly on schedule and all drivers and tour guides were friendly and professional. Our favorite has to be Linda in Split: not only was she a wealth of information on history, culture and architecture, but she also recommended a terrific restaurant in town as well as what turned to be one of our culinary highlights - peka. We learned that we needed to make reservations in advance and managed to do this in Korcula at Konoba Ranch Maha, which was an overall fantastic experience in agrotourism. Perhaps, you can add it to the recommendations for foodies visiting the island.

We are really happy to have worked with Secret Dalmatia. Your firm's special touches - from an unforgettable lunch prepared by Tatjana in Trogir at her historic house to another unforgettable lunch in Malo Grablje on Hvar - contributed to enriching us - figuratively and literally - with local flavors and deeper understanding of the country.

The only addition to the itinerary I could recommend is combining a trip to Bled with a visit to Postojna Cave, making it an intense full day of memorable sightseeing. We haven't done it this time and there's so much more to see in Croatia, so I'm sure we'll be back at some point.

Once again, thank you and Secret Dalmatia for creating indelible memories for us! I'd be glad to refer anyone to your firm.

Best Regards,
Marina

Susannah i Robert, USA
Private Tour of Dalmatian Coast

August 2016

Dear Natasa,

Thank you again for creating such a memorable, pleasant experience for us. You made it so easy for us, as foreigners with limited knowledge of Croatia, to navigate our journey. What is more, you did an excellent job of setting us up with first-class contacts and guides to lead the way.

Not only do we feel we have experienced all the great joys of the Croatian coast, but also that we have learned a great deal about the nation and its compelling history. Our guides were passionate and informative, but also enthusiastic and friendly. They often tailored our tours to complement our mood and tastes, and introduced us to unique experiences.

Moreover, I can't express how much your responsiveness before, during, and after our trip made us feel comfortable that we were in good hands. As avid travelers, we know how rare it is to have exceptional travel support, and applaud your ability to truly create a seamless, enjoyable experience.

We have only wonderful memories from our trip, and we have you to thank! We will certainly be sharing Secret Dalmatia's information with our friends and family so they can also have wonderful experiences in Croatia!

All the Best,
Susie & Rob